2016 national de­cal placement program announced for IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars

first_imgVINTON, Iowa – The final portion of IMCA’s 2016 national decal program have been announced, with information released for the Stock Car division.Dirt Defender has signed on as part of that program, which also includes EngineQuest – title sponsor for both Northern and Southern regions – Speedway Motors, Intercomp, Holley, MSD, Sunoco and Fast Shafts.“The Stock Car division was the last to be announced because we wanted to confirm a couple of agreements and make sure we got Dirt Defender on board,” IMCA Marketing Director Kevin Yoder said. “Now that we have those solidified we’ll get the decals distributed before the majority of our tracks open weekly.”Drivers must provide proof of decal placement to become eligible for national and regional point fund shares. Car photos can be mailed to Yoder at the IMCA home office or emailed to kyoder@imca.com.Decal packets, which also include applicable contingency sign-up forms, are being mailed beginning this month to drivers who have purchased 2016 licenses.Deadline for submitting car photos and contingency forms is Aug. 1.last_img read more

Former Polish PM to lead European Parliaments research committee

Email Sign up for our daily newsletter Get more great content like this delivered right to you! Country Buzek was a member of ITRE from 2004 to 2009; in 2006, he was the author of the Parliament’s opinion on Framework Programme 7, the giant research funding package that started in 2007 and closed last year. In that capacity, he was the Parliament’s lead negotiator during the launch of the prestigious European Research Council, as well as a series of partnerships between public and private research bodies, called Joint Technology Initiatives (JTIs). “The main idea was to [channel] the money dedicated for research through industry. It was not very easy to explain such a point of view to my [academic] research community. … They hated me,” Buzek said, with tongue in cheek, in his first public speech as ITRE chair at an event yesterday to launch the second wave of JTIs. In Poland, Buzek was the architect of major reforms of the health care, pensions, and education systems, as well as an effort to decentralize government.Buzek was elected by acclamation on Monday—meaning that he was the only candidate for the post, following intense horse-trading between political groups and national delegations within the Parliament. The committee also decided that after 2 and a half years, former E.U. budget commissioner Janusz Lewandowski will take over from Buzek, who’s 74. Lewandowski is another high-profile, conservative member from Poland with substantial insider’s knowledge of the E.U. machinery.Buzek’s candidacy speaks to ITRE’s political importance in the European Parliament, Langer says. With 67 members, it is the third biggest committee in the chamber, after those responsible for foreign affairs and public health and environment issues. At this stage in his career, Buzek “would not pick up a secondary [role],” Langer says.For policy wonks, the list of ITRE members includes other familiar names, such as former industry commissioner Antonio Tajani from Italy; and ITRE alumna Marisa Matias, a left-wing member from Portugal; and German Christian-democrat Christian Ehler, who played an active role during Horizon 2020 negotiations. Country * Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People’s Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Norway Oman Pakistan Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Qatar Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe BRUSSELS—Following the E.U. elections in May, the European Parliament’s research committee has gotten itself a high-profile chair—at least in Brussels circles. Jerzy Buzek, a conservative politician from Poland and a former chemical engineering professor, presided over the European Parliament from July 2009 to January 2012 and was prime minister in his country from 1997 to 2001.As chair of the Industry, Research and Energy (ITRE) Committee, Buzek will have a strong voice in the union’s science and innovation policies. In the lengthy negotiations over Horizon 2020, the bloc’s 7-year science funding program that has just started, ITRE has consistently pushed for a bigger science budget while cost-conscious member states tried to keep it down.Now that Horizon 2020 is under way, energy policy—one of Buzek’s pet subjects—will be higher on ITRE’s agenda, says Jerzy Langer, a Polish physicist who served as deputy science minister in 2005. Langer praises Buzek as an enthusiastic “gentleman professor” and a good listener with a knack for consensus. He is “the right person in [the] right moment at the right place,” Langer says. Click to view the privacy policy. Required fields are indicated by an asterisk (*) read more